PDA

View Full Version : NVQ2 or BTEC Level 3 Advanced Diploma

RatsPom
17-08-2007, 10:07 PM
Not sure how to start this thread so I'll just get straight to it. Hello by the way

I am an ex RN marine electrician and have been working for a UK manufacturer of close control air conditioning systems for computer rooms data centres etc I got taken on to look after the building services needs of a client on a new contract, 18 months into now. When I'm not doing this I'm usually teamed up with our AC Engineers doing maintenance on splits, VRV, VRF systems and lots of compressors changes both to those type of unit I've just mentioned and our own close control DX units and just recently a few weeks of install work - bit of pipe bending, brazing etc. I would like to get trained up on the ac side of life and can either go to the local college and do the NVQ2 (evenings only twice a week can't afford the a day with out pay) ac and refrigeration course or the BTEC level 3 advanced diploma from an online training provider - theory only provided. I think I know that you guys will say NVQ2 at college but I thought I would ask

my qualifications to date are city & guilds, NVQ 3 in electrical engineering maintenance from the RN, plus a few open university level 1 course in computers and IT

any advise gratefully received

Yours aye

Mac

ChiefTech
04-09-2007, 10:06 PM
Being new to the industry myself, I plan to do the walking bit 1st, save the running for later! I've just signsd up for an evening course NVQ 2. I have a deep mistrust of these on-line courses, prefer to do my learning face 2 face & ask plenty of questions!
Best of luck with it all......

ErickDavey
04-09-2007, 11:06 PM
Hi there.

Im pretty new to this industry also. I left a very well paid job in IBM in IT design & spec to be a fridge engineer (could'nt handle the office life).