PDA

View Full Version : where do i start

Bow
15-08-2007, 02:13 PM
hi all i'm a service engineer at a catering and bar supply company looking to learn more on refrigeration, we mainly deal with small units , undercounter fridges,coolers,ice machines, and up to large double door freezers,as my knoledge of refrigeration is limited i want to learn more, and hope to gain some qualification, where do i start, i have already gained my city and guilds for pat testing and wish to gain more by doing the same with refrigeration, there is nothing more frustraiting than not being able to fault find a problem with a unit, and then having to bring in an outside engineer to sort the problem, any help or advice will be greatly taken,
thanks,
BOW..

The Viking
15-08-2007, 02:19 PM
Bow,
The best option would be to find a company that's willing to take you on as an apprentice and send you to a dayrelease college.

Bow
15-08-2007, 02:38 PM
should of made this clear in my first post, i'm the only engineer in the company, my boss is willing to pay for me to train, and i'm not realy young enough to be an apprentice, wish i was, ok on the electrical side of things its the gas side i'm stumped on, want and need to know more, thanks..

paul_h
15-08-2007, 05:53 PM
I wish you the best, but there's no magic pill, forum or course to take. Most of us learn by experience, and the hard way at that. I've been in this business 15+ years and still can't find the forest for the trees sometimes.
You can learn the theory though study, eg good textbooks, you can hope to gain insight though someone else's experiences, eg forums, co workers etc.
But you won't "know" anything until you've come across it yourself.
I've got some awesome books made for my trade back in 1982, it goes over and above the current training given to apprentices. It really is the best set of books I've ever seen.
All I can recommend is to get a copy of roy dossat's principles of refrigeration.

bernard
15-08-2007, 10:10 PM
Hi