PDA

View Full Version : Are Copeland screws any good?

garyb
19-07-2007, 11:02 PM
I'm looking at using copeland screws for a CO2 liquifier doing 70kW -32/40 R404a in place of the Bitzer screws we usually use. Bitzer deliveries are too long at present and I need to investigate other options to meet my deadlines. I have no experience with the copeland screws and are looking for opinions as to their durability or significant issues.

BESC5240
20-07-2007, 02:52 PM
Hi,
I don't know what the situation is right now but when Copeland launched their Screw compressors (1997 ?) these were Bitzer compressor painted black (comming right out of the Bitzer factory).
Best regards

Toolman
22-07-2007, 01:07 AM
CO2 liquifier doing 70kW -32/40 R404a in place of the Bitzer screws

Stick with Bitzer stuff , I dont know anything about Co2 systems but Bitzer certainly do and it will be worth waiting for Bitzer screws , if there were Bitzer screws on there and they failed it will be the system design not the compressor .

john doersom
04-08-2007, 02:33 AM
Hi ........

I agree with "TOOLMAN".

I just came thru the COPELAND,(tm) training school classes on their SCREW compressors.

The Copeland instructor was awfully hesitant about encourageing me to install their product (the screw compressor) on some future storage jobs.

Like Toolman said, other manufacturer painted black.
Cost more than the COPELAND painted "company colors."

Of course, I was only talk'n 'bout 50 ton systems. I didn't tell him HOW MANY!

Seems as though the US NAVY don't like the Copeland Screws either. Don't know why......classified info.

Hope this helps out, somehow. John

john doersom
04-08-2007, 05:49 AM
Continued: