PDA

View Full Version : Dual mode Air Conditioner for RV

tkc100
15-07-2007, 07:59 AM
Has anyone out there done work around making a dual mode automotive air conditioner. I have always thought it would be great to have an A/C unit that could use the compressor driven by the engine or an electric compressor powered by a shore line connection. This would be used in an RV and keep from having all the redundancy of several A/C units. I am an automotive A/C Tech. and understand the operation of a system but know little about the actual engineering. Do you think such an idea is possible? If not why. Has it already been done and if so by whom.

Brian_UK
15-07-2007, 09:48 PM
Hi TKC and welcome to the forum.

Sorry to ask but.... what is a dual mode unit?

tkc100
15-07-2007, 10:35 PM
Brain
Don't know that it exist. Didn't know what else to call it but I am exploring the idea of being able to run an automotive air conditioner with a electric compressor.
Here the picture. You parked in your RV engine off. You have access to 110 volts AC. Is it, could it be possible to use the automotive evaporator, condenser and controls with a electric compressor. Dual mode in that it would have two compressors. One driven by the engine and the other would run on electricity. I hope this helps you understand what I'm hoping to do. I need to lean on the experience of those who have a great deal more refrigeration know how that I do. Bleed on this and let me know if I'm entertaining a lost cause.

Mayball
16-07-2007, 04:41 AM
Hi tkc

I work on refrigeration and air conditioning on sailboats and have seen many combinations such similar to your proposal.
However, it is usually used for refrigeration rather than air conditioning.