PDA

View Full Version : My problems about work in OZ

B.Lau
11-07-2007, 02:16 AM
Hello everybody of this forum:
Now I am thinking about immigrating to Australia as an air-conditioning mechanic.
I have obtained the national certificate of refrigeration of china, which means I am a qualified mechanic in my home country. And I will start my TAFE course in Melbourne from July, 2008 for 2 years in Holmesglen institute.
I could get the Certificate III and the Full Refrigeration and Air Conditioning License at the end of the first year according to the policy.
So, here goes the problem:
According to the policy of TRA (Trades Recognition Australia), I have to complete 900 hours work experience within tow years to reach the criterion of TRA. If I fell to meet the 900 hours requirement, then I have to leave OZ. Obviously it will be a tough task for me at that moment.
I just wonder if there any one who working in Australia (especially in Melbourne) as a refrigeration man could give me some tips about my plan and maybe explain the difficulty of getting 900 hours work for an international student within 1 year after I get the trade certificate and the license.
Those answers really means lots to me, I truly appreciate your help.
Cheers

B.Lau
11-07-2007, 11:31 AM
please, sirs

The Viking
11-07-2007, 08:07 PM
No experience of OZ I'm afraid.
But doing the maths it doesn't look too hard.

900 Hrs / 10 Hrs work per day = 90 days work experience spread over 2 years.

Should be easy, even if you can't get a proper job to achieve this, my bet is that if you explain your circumstances to almost any fridge/air-con guy out there and offer to "help out" for free in return for signed experience slip, then you will get there.

Abe
11-07-2007, 09:11 PM
Hello everybody of this forum:
Now I am thinking about immigrating to Australia as an air-conditioning mechanic.

You are thinking............
and worried about a job ?????

When you take a bite out of an apple, do you worry where the loos are?