PDA

View Full Version : R12 and R409a

Nobby
16-09-2002, 01:08 AM
Hi Guys and gals
I have an small under the counter fridge that has been retro-fitted from R12 to R409a. My only indication of this is someone scratched out the R12 and wrote 409a. Fair enough, but the quantity to put in after a leak is obviously different from R12. The label says 1.5LB or R12 and I need to know the correct weight for R409a. There is a mathmatic formula, Not sure what it is however. I'm not certain on the methos of accessing what refrigerent is in the fridge. As you may have guessed I'm pretty new at this and hardly do any fridges. I am certified and have taken a nine month course, but that was some 2 years ago and if you don't do something on a daily basis the knowledge fades.

superheat
16-09-2002, 01:40 PM
There is no set weight of 409. 409 has more capacity than R12. You will put in about 80% then use: amp draw, subcool, superheat, split or your favorite method to fine tune the charge. With a domestic frig you have the heat exchanger to prevent liquid from entering compressor. Don't be suprized if you have no subcool at the drier when you get it charged. Pay attention to all the stuff you know about the refrigeration cycle and good luck.

Nobby
16-09-2002, 02:04 PM
Thanks Superheat :)

Prof Sporlan
16-09-2002, 10:51 PM
One can use the difference in liquid densities between the refrigerants to estimate the change in refrigerant required.

For example, at a 105°F liquid temperature, R-12 has a density of 78.2 lb/ft3, and R-409A has a density of 71.5 lb/ft3, per the RefProp program. The liquid density of R-409A is about 91 percent of R-12, so a ballpark number for the amount of R-409A required is 91 percent of the weight of R-12 in the system. Taking subcool and superheat readings are always advisable whenever switching refrigerants... :)

superheat
17-09-2002, 01:46 PM