PDA

View Full Version : Cooling questions

Peter_1
19-06-2007, 09:03 PM
Can someone provide me some theoretical questions of the British, Canadian and US exams for refrigeration classes?
Eventually for the different levels if possible.

I need those to show the responsibles here in Belgium that our level, our standards aren't high enough compared to those in other countries.

I had a discussion yesterday evening: I gave the students in November 2006 a task which must me finished last week. So they had +/- 7 months.
Don't forget, this is the 2nd year classes. In Belgium, you have to go 2 years to evening classes , once a week from 06:30 PM till 10 PM.
There are also day schools but the school I'm a teacher is giving this and hundreds of other courses only in evening classes.

I personally found that the final test must represent , must be a reflection from what they saw in 2 years classes.

The task was to calculate a small vegetable and a small meat cool room connected to 1 compressor.
So they had to use an evaporating pressure regulator in case ons shuts down and additional resistances to control the humidity in the cold room.

Then a small freezer to let them think about the technics of a freezer, a small cooler to meet HACCP (50kg/110 lbs meals per batch and 5 batches/day to cool in 90 minutes)

They had to verify also if the owner could freeze 100 kg of goods (meat) during the night (8 hours an brought in fresh) with the compressor the selected.

And a shop with a split airco (+/- 12 kW/41000 BTU) in it.

The had to calculate the freezer completely manually (heat load and tubes ) and select manually the compressor, evaporator and TEV, MV, sight glass, all the components.

Because we leave nowadays in a computer world, all the rest may be done with a computer but they had to insert the print outs.

A small schematic of the lines

I gave them all the internet links they needed to make their final project and all the software was discussed in class.