PDA

View Full Version : refrigeration oils

dumpeyau
26-08-2002, 09:09 AM
hello people,
i am a second year refrigeration apprentice from australia and i need some help i need to know the meanings of a few terms and havent found anything as of yet.
the terms are : material compatibilty
chemical stability
pour/ floc point
floc
dielectric strength
viscosity
traction co efficent
miscibility
hygroscopic

any info woill be greatly appreciated thanks guys......

Richard
11-09-2002, 10:48 PM
Hi
I can awnser some of your questions
pour/floc point is when an oil begins to wax
viscosity is the thickness of the oil
miscability is how well an oil mixes with other sustances
hydroscopic an oils ability to absorb miosture

Hope it was of some help

Richard:D

Jamunda
18-11-2009, 10:02 AM
Is this for the Refrigeration Oils Assignment?
Because that's what I'm doing right now. I'm a first year apprentice though. It's due this Friday and I've done 130 words haha. I don't even know if I'm doing it right... It sucks...

Jamunda
18-11-2009, 10:06 AM
Oh wow, you'd be a tradesman by now LOL i just realised this was posted in 2002 HAHA!

moideen
18-11-2009, 12:00 PM
hello people,
i am a second year refrigeration apprentice from australia and i need some help i need to know the meanings of a few terms and havent found anything as of yet.
the terms are : material compatibilty
chemical stability
pour/ floc point
floc
dielectric strength
viscosity
traction co efficent
miscibility
hygroscopic

any info woill be greatly appreciated thanks guys......

chemical stability
for the oil to perform its lubricating functions effectively for long periodes of time,it should be stable and resist decomposition at high temperatutre.
Floc point