PDA

View Full Version : Pump Down?

SULTAN
03-06-2007, 07:33 PM
I am a hvac student in my 1st year. I am having a problem with my own central ac at home. I did a soap test and i found some bubles forming on the suction line near the evap coil in the furnace...
Is there any simple solution as to fixing this leak? What are the steps involved briefly fixing the leak?

What i think i need to do is.
Pump down the system.
Suck all refrigerant out..
Re-braze the area where its leaking from.
Fill up with nitrogen and do a pressure test.
Do vacum test
If its hold's the charge then open the liquid line and ON the unit.

Am i following these steps properly?

LRAC
03-06-2007, 08:27 PM
evap coil in the furnace...

what on earth is a furnace doing in your house.
regards
Lrac

Karl Hofmann
03-06-2007, 08:42 PM
what on earth is a furnace doing in your house.
regards
Lrac

It is the way that they heat and cool their homes over there. They prefer to use forced air heating which involves a furnace, rather like the warm air heaters that we use in industrial units here.

Over there, wet central heating systems using radiants and underfloor are not so popular

digi-finger
03-06-2007, 09:41 PM
depending on refridgerant it you may have to reclaim all gas and re charge according to manufacturers guidelines, reclaiming all refrigerant would be my prefered method particuarly with zeo blends r407c r410 ect

Karl Hofmann
03-06-2007, 10:07 PM
And don't forget to pass a trickle of Nitrogen through the system WHILST you are brazing to help prevent flakes of oxide forming inside of the tubing

marc5180
03-06-2007, 10:09 PM
I am a hvac student in my 1st year. I am having a problem with my own central ac at home. I did a soap test and i found some bubles forming on the suction line near the evap coil in the furnace...
Is there any simple solution as to fixing this leak? What are the steps involved briefly fixing the leak?

What i think i need to do is.
Pump down the system.