PDA

View Full Version : expansion valve

farzam_f2005
28-05-2007, 11:31 AM
why in thermostatic expansion valve with external equlaizer, the equlaizer line is after the sensing bulb. with best regards:)

chillin out
28-05-2007, 01:37 PM
The equalizer is after the sensor so that it does not affect the tev.

If it was before, it would affect the temp of the bulb.

Chillin:):)

NH3LVR
28-05-2007, 02:04 PM
Correct me if I am wrong (As I am not a TEV expert), but isn't this because it is possible for the valve to leak liquid refrigerant past the rods that drive the valve open (in the case of Sporlan). I seem to remember that this will cause liquid to travel down the equalizing line and close the valve prematurely when it cools the bulb.

lana
28-05-2007, 02:10 PM
why in thermostatic expansion valve with external equlaizer, the equlaizer line is after the sensing bulb. with best regards:)

Hi there,

The external equalizer line must be connected after the TEV's sensing bulb (towards the compressor). The reason is this :
Experience showed that this kind of valve which is internally sealed (evaporator inlet temperature does not effect the diaphragm), after a while there is a possibility of internal leakage.
When this happens , because of pressure differential , some liquid can get into the suction line. If the equalizer line is connected before the sensing bulb then TEV will start to close. But if it is connected after the sensing bulb then nothing happens.

If internal leakage does not occur then there is no difference where you connect the equalizer line.
You can find this fact in any refrigeration book, try Dossat.

Hope this helps.

Cheers

US Iceman
28-05-2007, 02:36 PM
...but isn't this because it is possible for the valve to leak liquid refrigerant past the rods that drive the valve open (in the case of Sporlan). I seem to remember that this will cause liquid to travel down the equalizing line and close the valve prematurely when it cools the bulb.

I would agree.