PDA

View Full Version : Suction Line Welding

Brian G
13-05-2007, 04:32 PM
Hi All -

I'm not a refrigeration professional, but a marine engineer currently working offshore West Africa. Since getting an internet connection on board a couple of months ago, I have found Google pointing me towards this forum several times in response to searches for info on refrigerants, compressor pressures and refrigeration oil so thought it would be prudent to register here in an attempt to absorb some of the wealth of experience and knowledge here through some type of electronic osmosis :rolleyes:

I have always thought of refrigeration engineers as akin to magicians of the highest order. Give one some pretty coloured bottles and a set of glass-faced oracle guages and with a wave of their wrench - Abracadabra! You turn summer into winter, and produce ice and snow out of thin air! :eek: Pretty amazing stuff!

Anyways..., I do have a question here....

We have a Sabroe A/C system with a SMC 108 S compressor and suction superheat running on R404A. We've developed a crack in a weld on the 4" suction pipe just before the receiver end cover. If I pump the system down to as close to atmospheric as I can, do you think it would be safe to weld up the crack 'in situ'? There's a piece of rubber gasket material held in place by a hose clamp (jubilee clip?) right now, but that's not gonna last much longer. I'd appreciate your thoughts on the matter.

Thanks a lot,
Brian

HGS
13-05-2007, 04:45 PM
Hi.
I sugest that you pump down the system by closing the liqid line before the the dry filters and then vent the line.you must not weld with any pressure on the line.

After the welding you must att vacum pump on the cover of the dryfilter and let it run for a night.Also it will be a good ider to chance the dryfilters if you have spares onbord.

Check the reason for the crack.I presume its vibrations from the vessel.

But again no velding on pressured pipes even as it seems at 0 bar

Best Regards
HGS