PDA

View Full Version : efficiency improvement using capacitor

star882
07-05-2007, 05:51 PM
I have heard that by installing a capacitor in parallel with a compressor, the total current will decrease without any impact on operation. That would imply an efficiency increase.
Is that true? Does it only work on older equipment?
I have heard about someone doing that with an old refrigerator and actually got a very significant decrease in operating costs, but I cannot verify that.

lana
07-05-2007, 06:11 PM
Hi there,

There is a way to use capacitors to make the reactive part of the power zero (if I explained this correctly:confused: , I am not an electricity expert, I just know that it kills:eek: ).
And this decreases the cost dramatically.
We have this system installed at our home engine room and also in the factory. It does make a real difference.

I am sure Peter1 can help you on this one.
Cheers

Josip
07-05-2007, 06:38 PM
Hi, Star882 :)

maybe you can find out more here:
http://www.shockfamily.net/triplehex/40hp.html

I'm not electrical engineer and this is some kind of "dark area" for me and will be nice if someone can explain this in layman's terms.

sounds very interesting. Thanks.

Best regards, Josip :)

NoNickName
07-05-2007, 08:14 PM
Reactive power is wasted power due to induction caused by windings of electrical motors. Basicly induction causes a disalignment between the phase of voltage and current.
This disalignment produces a parasite power called "reactive power", caused by the vector product of current x voltage. Users pay for reactive power more than for active power, without any benefit in terms of work done.
Capacitors also induce a disalignment, but with inverse sign. So when induction is causing unbalance between current and voltage, than a capacitor can be used to realign the phase.
Unfortunately, capacitors have a drawback of increasing the RMS voltage, so the life of motors can be reduced accordingly to the quantity of rephasing.