PDA

View Full Version : Apprentice Help Needed

Rotax100uk
18-04-2007, 06:58 PM
I have been an apprentice now in air conditioning and refrigeration for around 6 months now, i would really like to know how much should i know by now?

Can anyone write a list of roughly i should know/ be able to do etc.

Thanks very much.

wineman
18-04-2007, 07:42 PM
u should be able to go to the chippy and get everything right after 6 months possibly i might let you flare a joint but not oil it or tighten it

airconadam
18-04-2007, 07:42 PM
hey this is hard to say depends on how much your on site and what type of work your doing really iknow some lads tha was on my course and all they did was brush the stores etc were others are always out fixing unit and problem solving etc good luck

taz24
19-04-2007, 12:49 AM
I have been an apprentice now in air conditioning and refrigeration for around 6 months now, i would really like to know how much should i know by now?

Can anyone write a list of roughly i should know/ be able to do etc.

Thanks very much.

Are you going to college and doing an NVQ?

If you are then the two years that it will take are a good guide to how you are doing.

It all depends on you.
If working with tools comes naturaly, if you like striping things down to see how they work, if you don't mind hours of repetetive boreing work that no one else will do and as long as you have not scratched the owners / managers jag while nicking some scrap copper you'll be fine.

If you are this keen to know and learn you are exactly where you should be.

Enjoy, don't worry about making mistakes because you will and pass your driving test as soon as possible.

taz.

lana
19-04-2007, 04:24 AM
Hi there,

Everything said so far. In my opinion you should strengthen your theoretical knowledge beside your practical one. These two work together.
Apart from electrical I would expect you to know at least :
1- Connecting gauges in a correct way so min. refrigerant goes out.