PDA

View Full Version : Oil

Nobby
30-06-2002, 03:47 PM
Ok you guys and gals, here is a dumb question for you. As a newbie I am curious how oil is introduced into a refrigeration system, and how much even:)
I can't find any reference to this in any book I have (Probably so basic they didn't think it needed to be said)

Thanks in advance

Stephen

Argus
30-06-2002, 05:11 PM
Not so. Your actual reasons for adding oil are as valid as the method. Oils should only be added when necessary, either as a result of contamination or catastrophic losses - not when a system is running at low load and without any separation devices for long periods and so refusing to return the oil charge to the sump. In these cases oils will always remain stranded around the system. Adding more will not improve the situation and the risk of compressor damage remains.
The filling method will depend on your system. There are lots of methods. Generally big compressors are straightforward and the addition method is easy.
Regardless of the compressor type, large systems will usually have a sight glass or something similar to indicate oil levels. Generally they will also have a fill plug in the vicinity. You isolate the compressor body and safely relieve the pressure by reclaiming or using the compressor to pump itself down and simply tip the required quantity in usually to half or two thirds the glass, if there is a fill line on the glass. If you are able to draw a controlled vacuum on the compressor sump, you can use the vacuum pump to draw it in if you have a large quantity to add. Another method I used to use was a stirrup-type pump, specially made for refrigeration, which could sit in the oil can and could pump oil directly into the suction service valve when the unit was running. It was OK at low back pressures, but you needed muscles like Rambo on AC systems. It did the job, and I still have it somewhere.