PDA

View Full Version : Help pls: air-to-air heat exchanger and Regenerative heat exchanger?

spiderman
14-04-2007, 02:32 AM
Hi all,

i'm a student designing a refrigeration system this yr.
i'm trying to find out the latest technology that exist in the market for:

1. air-to-air heat exchanger
2. regenerative heat exchanger/regenerator

ive done some research already for both, however what i found is mostly talking about air conditioning systems and heating buildings.

could they be used the same way for a refrigeration system?

im more confused about what is a regenerator now after reading more about it.
is a regenerator the same as a recuperator?

Could someone kindly please enlighten me....:confused:

where is the place to start to find information on these areas as i find that the research ive done is still not giving me a good enough understanding?

Many thanks.;)

ps. i wasnt sure if this is the right place to put this here...because the HEs im talking about is related to both refrigeration and AC systems.

penair
15-04-2007, 04:55 AM
hi S man
What application is your refrigeration system being designed for, low or medium temperature? I dont quite understand your air to air heat exchanger. Evaporators and condensors are both heat exchangers, vessels within a refrigeration circuit designed to transfer heat either to or from the refrigerant in them, (liquid or vapour).
An example of a recuperator in a refrigeration system may be a 3 way valve on the discharge line of a commercial supermarket refrigeration system which would for example divert the high pressure high temperature refrigerant either to the condensor, eg. a remote rooftop mounted condensor, or on a cold day divert the high temperature high pressure refrigerant to a fan coil unit to heat the air within the supermarket for human comfort. Let me know if that helps, perhaps i can help you further.
Frank

lana
15-04-2007, 03:17 PM
Hi penair,