PDA

View Full Version : Questions about NH3 from a wantabe newbie

Minuteman
08-04-2007, 08:36 PM
That's right, when it comes to refrigeration I'm a newbie, and about NH3 I don't even rank as a newbie yet. So if my questions are bizarre now you know why.

I am researching the idea of solar powered air conditioning. If I hadn't happened upon the idea in the RV industry of cooling something by making a flame, I wouldn't be here. But I figured if they can cool a refrigerator with a gas flame one ought to be able to cool a house with a solar collector?

My knowledge of the refrigeration system is limited to what I have picked up online so I am a little bit familiar with the idea of disolving the ammonia in water, heating it to drive it off, condensing it, etc.

In my solar pursuit I have seen that there is a huge amount of inexpensive and plentiful solar heating systems already successfully used for swimming pool heating. Since these heat water, and NH3 refrigeration uses water...

If I was to use swimming pool solar collectors, it presents a limit on the pressure in the system. They are very low pressure (35 psi at 140 degrees F 90 psi at ambient (I think))

So, without anything but theory to back this up, the way to keep the pressure within this range is to increase the circulation rate and keep the temp low. I am assuming this range of temp won't be enough to drive off the ammonia from the water.

But... would it work to inject this now warmed up solution into a vacuum, thus lowering the "boiling point" of it to where the ammonia evaporates out of it?

Thanks in advance - from a newbie

lana
09-04-2007, 10:12 AM
Hi Minuteman,

Welcome to this forum.

I idea you have about ammonia is not going to work. Ammonia (as the refrigerant) and water (as the absorber) is in the Absorption system. Which has a different theory and operation.
The only thing you can do is to heat the water by solar energy then use this water in an absorption system.
BUT BUT BUT BUT .......:eek: