PDA

View Full Version : lockring

who m i
24-03-2007, 06:56 AM
hi all,
I am new to this... can anyone plz xplain bout lockring??? is there any substitute for this which is cost effective???

NoNickName
24-03-2007, 11:44 AM
What do you mean by lockring?

Brian_UK
24-03-2007, 07:34 PM
Lokring is a method of joining pipes without brazing.

See here:-

http://www.lokring.com/index.html

Dan
24-03-2007, 07:42 PM
These are specialty fittings that you would consider for specialty application. Look at automobile air conditioning, for example. We see everything BUT brazed copper fittings.

But for stationary equipment, the most reliable, economical construction is brazed copper or welded steel depending upon refrigerants used.

You might choose something like "lock-ring" to repair a joint between aluminum and copper as a best solution.

Brian_UK
24-03-2007, 08:09 PM
I would agree with Dan and add that I have used it for some a/c work on R22 in the past where we were not able to braze pipework within the building.

It proved very useful and I believe is still leak tight.

I think also that some domestic guys use it to fit a blank plug after charging via the process stub.

Dan
24-03-2007, 08:11 PM
I have also seen compression fittings for A/C connections between copper discharge lines and aluminum condensers. These employed a union, compression ferrules and high temperature rubber O-rings. I have an old set of Watsco connectalls left over from a repair I did 20 years ago. Lock-ring looks like the best available today.

who m i
03-04-2007, 11:24 AM
hey thanx..but it there any other material which can used which is not as costly as locking????or some rigid plastic kind of material which can fulfill same purpose????

750 Valve
03-04-2007, 01:03 PM
Not that I'm aware of, lokring is good - worth the cash if soldering the pipes is not an option

Cofreth
03-04-2007, 04:13 PM
What about a flare joint?

750 Valve
04-04-2007, 03:13 PM