PDA

View Full Version : Installing pipework for single split unit

electro
18-03-2007, 03:37 PM
Afternoon all :)

I've finally spent out the money for a Mitsubishi 3.5kw inverter split, I was wondering if you folks had some 'top tips' for installing the copper refrigerant lines.

To outline the plan, I'm an IT consultant, one of my customers is a refrigeration engineer, he needs his website working on, so we're exchanging some labour times between us. I'm going to undertake the hardware installation: mounting indoor unit, outdoor unit, laying in pipework. Qualified electrician is installing the spur needed for the outdoor unit.

Before you all scream the usual "get a professional in!!" - don't worry, I won't be doing the flare joints or vac'ing/gassing, the refrig engineer will do that part.

The pipework run is about 14m, up an outside wall, and inside/over the loft to the other side of the house where the room is. I don't have a pipe bending tool at the moment, although I might be able to borrow one for the job.

I've never worked with this kind of diameter pipeowork before, and I'd definitely like to avoid any ruptures!! Is it reasonably easy to work with?

Cheers!
-Dave

(PS, sorry for the essay :D)

Brian_UK
18-03-2007, 04:06 PM
Hi Dave, you've asked the question but didn't tell us what size the pipework actually is:p

Anyway, using suitable pipebenders then you shouldn't really have any major problems.

Make sure that the ends of the pipes are always sealed to prevent ANY dirt getting inside while you are pushing/pulling through holes/lofts space etc.

You may need to join the pipework unless you are lucky enough to fit it in one piece so think where a sensible place for the joins to be - ease of access for brazing etc.

We now know what you're doing at weekends now :D

taz24
18-03-2007, 04:12 PM
Afternoon all :)