PDA

View Full Version : fridgmaster

spennyy2k
16-03-2007, 12:10 AM
hi i am unsure of the model but i have a fridgemaster single freezer, today it seems to have stopped running properly i can hear a "metalic clicking" noise now and again (im assuming its the thermostat, but this doesnt make a noise if i move the dial) but the motor isnt humming but its casing is slightly warm to the touch, there has been a very small amount of water come from the underside of the freezer but non from inside and is still quite cold inside, would anyone know if its worth a repair or sling it in the skip?

Electrocoolman
16-03-2007, 03:07 AM
Clicking noise is compressor protection 'KLIXON' overload. You need to unplug the freezer...before (anymore ) damage is done to the compressor.

The compressor is not starting....this could be for several reasons....compressor stuck, windings, or possibly simply the start relay.
You will need to diagnose the compressor fault further.
I guess you are not familiar with compressor electrics so would point you in the direction of a repair guy...he sould be able to diagnose the problem fairly quickly.
If its the compressor, then you would need to look carefully at the economics of replacement. A relay on the other hand would probably be worth replacing.

spennyy2k
16-03-2007, 08:03 AM
ok cheers for the help :D

spennyy2k
16-03-2007, 05:10 PM
ok had a little look myself today.. emtyed the freezer and left it turned off all day, took the cover off the thermostat and the connections to the compressor (assumeing its the relay there and something else, a round unit at the top and a square one at the bottom each with 2 connecttors best i can tell) all the connections are fine when i turn the freezer on the compressor runs for 5-10 secs then i get the noise again does this sound more like the relay than the actual compressor itself?

Electrocoolman
16-03-2007, 09:22 PM
You need to fault find for which you will need a Resistance / continuity test meter