PDA

View Full Version : What sort of system for a dynocell??

matt p
26-02-2007, 05:33 PM
Hi everyone i looking for some advice if thats
possible;) .

My engine tuner in the uk has asked me what system he would need to put in his Dynocell that he is building.

In this cell it will have two rolling roads and will be an
aproxomate size of 15m2 and 3 meters high.

He asked for supply and extract fans at the front and rear, also if it is possible to maintain a temprature of
no more than twenty degrees c.

Im still in first year at college doing my NVQ2 :rolleyes: , and what he has asked me for is a little over my
head:p

Any help would be great and ill try and answer any questionsa that you have.

Thanks in advance

Matt

US Iceman
26-02-2007, 08:00 PM
Engine test cells can be quite involved. You have fresh air coming into the room for combustion in the engine. This air needs to be conditioned to some dry bulb and wet bulb temperature. This would be based on some set of required operating conditions.

You have heat coming off of the engine (and radiator, if it is installed on the engine test cart and not remote outside of the test cell). The dyno will also generate some heat which needs adds to the cooling load.

Is the test cell to be used only for load testing, cold start, emissions, or durability testing?

matt p
26-02-2007, 08:58 PM
Hi there thanks for the reply, it will be mainly used for load testing as he will be fitting engine upgrades/ aftermarket management etc and then testing them so they work properly.

The emmissions will be monitored as he sets the cars up with a lamda probe placed in the exhaust.

Can i ask what you mean by dry and wet bulb temperatures?

US Iceman
26-02-2007, 09:05 PM
These are temperatures from weather data in the ambient air. You can find them in the local weather forecast.

Hopefully the engine exhaust will be piped outdoors external to the test cell.

This type of project is more complicated than a simple exhaust and intake fan.;)