PDA

View Full Version : promotion

mr cool
11-02-2007, 01:07 PM
Hi guys,
i am currently in the running for promotion to management!! never thought it would happen to me.
i was wandering if anyone had any advice for me. i have been an engineer for 9 years and a supervisor for 2 and have a good idea what goes on in the supermarket sector in the uk. i have v. little experiance of management and my I T skills are not the best as i am sure you can tell!!:) any stories/advice would be greatly appreciated as i am not too sure what to expect if and when i start. thank you, mr cool.

The Viking
11-02-2007, 03:51 PM
Ask for a pay rise and stay on the tools.

Been there, got the T shirt and managed to escape.

frank
11-02-2007, 05:30 PM
Definition of Management:

1) You get all the grief from the blokes before it reaches the Directors

2) You get sent by the Directors to take all the grief from the Customers

:D :D

chillin out
11-02-2007, 07:17 PM
Just don't forget this.....

i have been an engineer for 9 years
You have already been there and know what it's like, so don't try to upset the people you leave behind just to win some 'brownie' points with the big chiefs.

Chillin:) :)

LRAC
11-02-2007, 07:20 PM
Hi guys,
i am currently in the running for promotion to management!! never thought it would happen to me.

Go for it,if you don't one of your mates will or even worse somebody from outside of the company.

Best of luck
Lrac

Abe
11-02-2007, 09:17 PM
I agree Go for it.............All the best
Youre the right age as well

As with everything, there is a learning curve.......
Try get into a part time Business Course at University

Not those courses at a local FE.........University Business School

The only advice I can give you is..........Be You, Be Honest, Be Sincere, Put in the hours, Be concientious, Be aspiring, learn from your elders, listen to your superiors....