PDA

View Full Version : refrigeration warehouse questions

bnuncc07
30-01-2007, 07:53 PM
hello. im a student and we are trying to design a refrigeration warehouse for a class. It includes having 3 freezers at around 20 degrees F, and 1 deep freezer around -40 degrees F.

From what ive seen, using ammonia in a liquid overfeed system seems to be the best route, but i was wondering if anyone recommends anything else.

Also is there a particular place that I can goto to get prices or estimates for the systems parts. any companies that are better or worse then others? thanks

nh3wizard
30-01-2007, 08:08 PM
You might want to look into a 2 stage system since you want the -40, but there are other things you need to know prior, what size are your rooms going to be; what is the temp of your product coming in, what temp do you want to store it at...You have a company in NC called General Refrigeration, they just opened a shop there, plus The Stellar Group has a office in NC

US Iceman
30-01-2007, 09:05 PM
Along with the idea of using a two-stage system, you might also consider looking at two temperatures on the low-stage (booster) side of the system. One overfeed system and booster(s) for -20F, and another overfeed system and booster(s) for the -40F loads.

Whether or not this is cost effective depends on the cost of electricity and the relevant cooling loads for each of those two areas.

You will also probably have some dock cooling loads, so these could be performed by the high-stage compressor(s). I would seriously investigate the possibility of setting the intermediate pressure at the required evaporating pressures for the dock air units, instead of using something like 25 psig suction pressure (which it seems everyone likes to do).

Just about any manufacturer should be OK. It's not so much the equipment name you use, as it is the manner in which the system is designed.

Josip
30-01-2007, 11:18 PM
Hi, Bnucc07 :)

welcome to RE