PDA

View Full Version : Autoloading slide valve for Screw compressor

screw_geek
09-01-2007, 06:17 PM
Hi All
This is my first post to this forum, i have been reading the articles here for quite sometime and found it really helpful especially newbies like me.

I have a MyCoom screw compressor 320VSD-HE and i need to program its cpacity control using two solenoids; Load and unload. I am quite new to screw compressors.

There are two solenoids to control a screw compressor slide valve; one is for Load and the other one is for Unload. I would like to control the capacity of the screw compressor using these solenoids. When the suction pressure is above the Auto Load Setpoint the Load Relay is energized. The relay is pulsed on/off according to Load On and Load Off timers. The unit will not auto load if the suction pressure is above the Auto Load Disable Setpoint.
Any ideas or suggestions how this can be accomplished in RSlogix5000 platform for Compact Logix controllers? Commenst will be appreciated.
Regards

Andy
09-01-2007, 09:15 PM
Hi Screw Geek:)

you could use an analog input from a transducer and a look up table, but probably at this stage in your learning curve a dead band pressure switch with a very small differential would be the way to go. Basically you would be replacing the timers with the plc on input of load up and load down from the dead band pressure switch.

Kind Regards Andy:)

screw_geek
09-01-2007, 09:45 PM
Hi Andy
Thanks for replying to me. There is no Deadband pressure switch on the unit. All i have, is the suction pressure coming in and then two setpoints; one for Auto load setpoint and other is Auto load disable setpoint, and i am comparing them against the suction pressure, to pulse the relay on and off based on Load On and Load Off timers. Hopefully this helps

Regards

Andy
09-01-2007, 11:29 PM
Hi Andy