PDA

View Full Version : transient heat transfer help

shoot_j
01-01-2007, 11:02 AM
I am trying to understand the basics and have made it this far but I am sort of stumped.
Can someone help guide me through the formula? :confused: Please bare with me as I am new at this.

Outside properties: air density @ 70F(21.11_C) = .0745 lb/ft3 (.0012g/cm3)
Inside properties: 1lb of water liquid density @ 38F = 62.43 lb/ft3 (1g/cm3)
Insulative/container properties: thermal conductivity 15.5 mW(m·K), .107Btu/hr-ft2-oF, .375ft2(355.48 cm2) (surface area based on 3in (7.62 cm) cube) 6mm thick
Assuming the water is 38F(3.33_C) how long will it take for the outside air to raise the temperature to 39F in these conditions?

autt
01-01-2007, 03:06 PM
Suppose water inside temperature is uniform all the time, the average container surface heat exchange coefficient is: inside Alpha_i=3 w/(sqm*K), outside Alpha_e=3 w/(sqm*K), then you can use this formula:
Total heat transfer coefficient
K=1/(1/Alpha_i+Delt/Lamda+1/Alpha_e));
Water temperature is:
T=Ta+(T0-Ta)*exp(-K*F*t/(m*cp));
All quantities is in metric units.
So you need to give the insulation thick Delt to complete the calculation.

Brian_UK
01-01-2007, 05:25 PM
Hi Shoot, could you please use a slightly larger html font when you're posting.

We don't all have such young eyes as you ;)

Cheers....

shoot_j
02-01-2007, 02:27 AM
knew I had to be missing something I edited the first post to reflect the thickness and adjusted the thermal conductivity value
sorry about the font size wasn't aware my text style wouldn't transfer, I pasted from an offline Word document I was working on. Think I got it fixed though?

shoot_j
09-01-2007, 01:12 AM
I am still having difficulty with this equation, can someone explain the Delta/Lambda portion of the previously mentioned "heat transfer coefficient" formula?

autt
09-01-2007, 03:47 PM