PDA

View Full Version : Aircraft A/C

frank
01-04-2002, 08:24 PM
I've read somewhere that the aviation industry uses the "bootstrap" method of air conditioning onboard aircraft - can anyone shed some light on this as it is not something I've come across?

Frosty
01-04-2002, 09:18 PM
Eh up Franky Boy

The Bootstrap principle is a classic example of "energy cannot be made or destroyed"......all sides being equal, if the energy in one kg/m3 of air with a velocity of x and a total energy of x is used to drive a turbine, or a multi-stage turbine (ala plane air con systems), then the total energy will remain constant but, the make-up will alter.

As the air passes through the turbine, frictional losses will occur, but the main 'change' is the temperature of the fluid...yes, air is classed as a fluid! The air gives up its heat during the process but the total energy of the fluid remains constant.

Frank, I'm no expert on this subject.....but heh, you will understand the principles described above (remember thermofluids with Geoff)- even though it might not be described in text book fashion!

In fact, I think I will go away and investigate further - LOL

Mr Frosty

herefishy
02-04-2002, 03:06 PM
http://projects.bre.co.uk/aircycle/fig3a.jpg

frank
02-04-2002, 09:14 PM
Fish

I understand the pictorial and theoretical cycle but how is this incorporated into the aircraft?

Frosty
02-04-2002, 09:49 PM
Simple Frank....it bolts on using 250 2" BSF bolts and fits just snugly between the ****pit and the wing section...Hee Hee!

Frosty :D

Frosty
02-04-2002, 09:53 PM
Heh Frank, see that, they've blanked out the co*k in co*kpit....I ask you.....whats the world coming too!!!!!

See you on the 12th for the muther of all boyz night pi*s ups....had to take out an s there Frank - just in case....don't want to upset anybody!!

Frosty:cool:

WebRam
02-04-2002, 10:48 PM
LOL, its an automated thing on the forum, nothing to do with the moderators :D

frank
03-04-2002, 08:06 PM
Frosty