PDA

View Full Version : Hi all & not sure if this is even the right forum

Tango
04-12-2006, 02:45 AM
hi all & as I've out lined above, am not sure if this is the right forum for the HELP I'm looking for, but here goes any way.
Am toying with the idea of using a 'radiator' on the back of a domestic refrigerator charged with oil as a means of a solar collector/heat transfer rather than solar tubes to heat water. Was thinking of setting up a test rig with a refrigerator radiator to trap the radiant energy & another radiator or copper tubing in a insulated barrel to transfer the radiant energy to the water with a couple of pumps to circuclate the oil & water.
Any ideas, suggestions etc: would be most welcome.
i have no engineering knowledge what so ever :confused: but believe the idea has merit.

Brian_UK
04-12-2006, 07:45 PM
Hi Tango and welcome.

Yes it might work but you need to be aware that if you take away too much heat from the domestic condenser then the fridge might stop working. This is assuming that you make direct contact with the pipework.

If you are just working on radiant heat then I suppose an insulated box might help but make sure that the domestic condenser doesn't overheat.

Also considering the low running times of a domestic fridge I doubt if there is going to be much heat to recover over a 24 hour period.

Tango
04-12-2006, 09:05 PM
Hi Brian UK,
thanks! Some how I have not explained my idea very well. :(
You know on the back of a domestic refrigerator there is a 'heat exchange', I really dont know its proper name.
My intent is to use this radiator/heat exchange, filled with oil & completely divorced from a refrigerator, as a means of catching the Sun's energy & by means of a pump driving the hot oil into another radiator/heat exchange which would be immersed in a suitable insulated container of water, which inturn would be connected to another pump, connected to the house hot water system.