PDA

View Full Version : CO 2 and its implications

LRAC
22-11-2006, 07:25 PM
Ok people i'm an old fashioned engineer you know the guy who's only worked on copper installations and standard refrigerants. Not that i really want to do CO2 but the market is moving towards this and i know jack all.

Some questions,

If CO2 is natural element in the atmosphere what happens when we start venting excess amounts of CO2 or is CO2 extracted from the air and we would not be adding any extra just putting it back.

Does CO2 piework require welding in steel pipe rather than copper and if so will we have to be Lloyds registered welders.

Are CO2 systems comparible to todays standard systems in refrigerant cycles of compression and evaporation.

What sort of pressures are we talking about, are they higher than R410 for example.

As you can see i know jack crap, any basic information that would help me understand this technology would be gratefully appreciated.

Regards
Lrac:confused: :confused: :confused:

NoNickName
22-11-2006, 10:01 PM
A standstill liquid CO2 at 30°C will reach 73 bars. Go figure.

Brian_UK
22-11-2006, 11:30 PM
A standstill liquid CO2 at 30°C will reach 73 bars. Go figure.Oh sh*t !!

Our PPE kit will soon include bomb disposal suits.:confused:

NoNickName
23-11-2006, 11:03 AM
Uh? I don't get it.

LRAC
23-11-2006, 03:43 PM
Oh sh*t !!

Our PPE kit will soon include bomb disposal suits.:confused:

PPE = Personel protective equipment.

Brian_UK
23-11-2006, 06:25 PM
Sorry NNN, forgot the international flavour on here.

Thanks for correcting me LRAC.

Andy
24-11-2006, 10:11 PM
Ok people i'm an old fashioned engineer you know the guy who's only worked on copper installations and standard refrigerants. Not that i really want to do CO2 but the market is moving towards this and i know jack all.

Some questions,