PDA

View Full Version : Diplomat APM6842 - not cold enough

chedz
14-11-2006, 05:14 PM
hi,

I'm just after a bit of advice please, to bin or attempt a fix.

I have a Diplomat - APM6842 fridge freezer, its part of a fitted kitchen behind a door. Its about 4.5 years old so should still work I recon.

Recently its stopped cooling the fridge, it remains at a steady 12 degrees, so lots of milk and food going off. Er'indoors isn't happy at all with me for not fixing it yet :mad:

Twiddling the thermostat seems to make no difference. The freezer is at -11 degrees.

From reading some of the other posts and my limited knowledge it looks like the thermostat or a loss of gas? Anyone got any bright ideas? :confused:

I had a look at the thermostat, it seems the metal wire dissappears into the side of the unit, so how on would one replace this? Is there some way of threading a new one through and connecting it at the other end??? :confused: (does the metal wirey thing connect at the other end somewhere inside the fridge?)

Also I contacted a spares company (speedyspares I think they were called), they told me a new stat would be nearly £60, blimey oh riley!!!! Is this a realistic price, sounds very steep to me.

Final question, is a Diplomat APM6842 the same as a Whirlpool APM6842??

Thanks in advance for any wise words. I'll owe you one! ;)

Chedz

chillin out
14-11-2006, 11:43 PM
Try defrosting the freezer section completely and then retesting setting the thermostat to it's middle setting.

Also make sure the doors close properly.

Chillin:) :)

chedz
15-11-2006, 10:27 AM
Hi,

we tried that, complete defrost and yes the door is shutting tight. Could it be the thermostat do you think?

Thanks again
chedz

Electrocoolman
15-11-2006, 08:24 PM
Hi Chedz,
Yes it appears that Diplomat is same as Whirlpool APM6842. Code number should be 8539755150070/1/2 i.e.ending 0, 1 or 2.

Correct thermostat code is Whirlpool 5031684765157
suggested retail 31.69 .