PDA

View Full Version : Need Help with cold water tank design

ac_sheldon
13-11-2006, 06:33 PM
Let me start by saying that I am not a refrigeration engineer. I am trying to develop an application for my company and came across this forum. I am hoping that someone here can point me in the right direction. Here goes.

I need an insulated tank of FRESH water (approx. 48x48x48") in which I can vary the water temperature between 0 and 35 deg. C.

The warming operation is easy but I am having trouble sourcing a system that can do the cold part. I have to maintain water temperature when in cold mode between 0 and 1 deg. C. It will be 100% recirculated water - I just need a tank of cold water. In the past we have filled the tank with ice and let it melt - using the slush layer at the bottom as our 0-1 deg. C water. Not the most elegant solution.

The problem I am finding is that most chillers cannot go this low without freezing up unless you add salt or antifreeze. Unfortunately, I have to have fresh water.

Does anyone know of an off the shelf or semi-off the shelf solution for this system? Cost is a factor as I am trying to limit the total cost of the system to $3000 or less.

Any advice or help is appreciated. As an electrical engineer, I am out of my area of expertise and need some help!!

Thanks in advance!!

NH3LVR
13-11-2006, 07:39 PM
Welcome to the Forum!
You are indeed correct about the problems with Chillers that near the freezing point.
Ice is the easiest solution, but as you mentioned it is not very elegant.
I have worked on systems that would do what you needed. They involved Vertical Chillers using plates or refrigerant chilled tubes mounted above a tank. The water is recirculated to the top of the Chiller and runs by gravity back to the tank. It works very well. If it should freeze it will cause no damage. In fact you will want it to build a bit of ice. One common application is in cooling Cherries. Chester Jensen makes this kind of equipment.