PDA

View Full Version : Soon to be Ex Airforce techie hoping to become an AC tech.

Joey Toey
12-11-2006, 01:01 PM
Hi all,

Just hoping for some kind of recommendations or advice from the guys in the know.

In 5 months, I'm leaving the RAF after 20 years service as an Airframes/Propulsion technician, I dealt with all sorts of things, such as metalwork, hydraulics, pneumatics, fuel systems, O2 and N2 (Liquid and gaseous) systems and gained a HNC in aeronautical engineering.

Thing is, I don't want to work on aircraft any longer and would like to begin a career in AC and refrigeration.

To help me the MOD has very kindly given me the best part of 4 months off and a bit of cash to help with retraining. (ex-militaries would recognise this as resettlement)

I've decided that I'll take a course at Technique Training which seems to provide all the basic stuff, eg

Technique Training Certificate of Installation, Maintenance and Repair• CITB Safe Handling of Refrigerants
• City & Guilds 2078 - Safe Handling of Refrigerants Assessment
• The CITB Pipework and Brazing Course
• EAL Electrical Domestic Installer Qualification VRQ

and an electrical segment at the end which would allow me to carry out electrical installation at a competent person level.
All looks good, except that it costs a pretty penny, all of around £2500 (non-residential)

So before I commit, I really do need to know the likelyhood of me chances of getting a job, in the south east (Remember, I'm 37!)

Thanks in advance for any advice.

Andy
12-11-2006, 02:55 PM
Hi Joey:)

a job should not be a problem:)

take a look at the jobs database, there is a fair few jobs available in A/C.

Kind Regards Andy:)

rbartlett
12-11-2006, 03:12 PM
Hi Joey:)

a job should not be a problem:)

take a look at the jobs database, there is a fair few jobs available in A/C.

Kind Regards Andy:)