PDA

View Full Version : Internet service providers (ISP's)

WebRam
18-03-2002, 01:13 PM
Man, am I pissing in the wind or what ??

I have tried BT ....... can nerver get online after 4pm

I have tried Tiscali ...... can get online but can not FTP ??

I have tried Freeserve ........ slower than paint drying

I am now thinking of trying Force 9

Anyone point me in a better direction ?

(I am using a ISDN connection)

Brian_UK
18-03-2002, 11:09 PM
I haven't used them for some time but Nildram used to be a good ISP, they kept a good modem/customer ratio at all times.

Brian

herefishy
19-03-2002, 02:57 PM
I don't know what availability is in Scotland, but I have been using Earthlink / Sprint for four years and have Never, never had a problem. I don't know what a busy signal sounds like on a modem!

Abe
19-03-2002, 07:40 PM
You cannot compare the UK to the USA. The USA in terms of internet is light years ahead
I know what Im talking about
I worked in telecommunications in Canada for a year
In Canada there have fibre optic "everything
You download at speeds approaching 240 kbs per sec
Here in UK Im lucky if I achieve 4kbs.........thats on a standard line mind you
In States they are bringing the number of connections per node to around 300
In the UK I guess its around 20000 per node!!
With Digital multiplexing and whathave you.........I dunno.........all I know is we need to sort our telecomms out here in the UK
In the USA they take it for granted that they have the best internet infrastructure

Gary
19-03-2002, 11:12 PM
I wonder why this is so? Equipment availability? Seems doubtful. Lack of entrepenuers? Overregulation? Why is there such demand without supply? What is the holdup?

Prof Sporlan
20-03-2002, 04:25 AM
The Prof has had a dial-up connection service with the same ISP since 1994, a local St. Louis firm that has been purchased perhaps three times over..... :( But he can't remember the last time he encountered a busy signal with them. Maybe in 1996???? :)

Abe