PDA

View Full Version : Purging air from system?

mswinman
18-08-2006, 12:02 AM
Firstly I am not a refrigeration engineer, however as an electrical engineer I do encounter air con control systems in various environments. During the recent hot weather I bought through ebay a split unit and having partially deciphered the installation procedure (quite fun actually it refers to a flare nut as an enlargement nut!!) it says to purge air from the high pressure line to the evaporator and on to the low pressure pipe work back to the outdoor unit by "loosen big enlargement nut by 1/4 to 1/2 circle for 10 or so seconds", Now I'm not asking anyone what this means as I think I've worked that out but surely this cannot for certain remove all the air, moisture, and contaminants from the system, for one thing I'm sure refrigerant content after the operation could not be right. I invite any comments you guys may have even sarcastic ones, I do have a vacuum pump that I could use but I see no way it could be connected.

Cary
18-08-2006, 12:59 AM
There should be a 1/4 access valve stem on the service valve of the larger of the two pipes to conect your guage manifold and then you vacume pump.
You are not allowed to refrigerant purge as it breaks many EPA laws and was never effective anyway as you pointed out, it was a method for less reputable A/C manafactures to market their units to the DIYers who figured saving a buck on the install was worth it even if it ment the A/C didn't work properly.
Here in Aus. our regulatory body has at least succeded in having all manafactures remove instruction on air purging with refrigerant removed and replace with vacumeing instructions
lol with your install

guapo
18-08-2006, 01:43 AM
Hi,
Just install a good filter drier to remove moistur from the system,

Regards,
Guapo

Peter_1
18-08-2006, 07:02 PM
Hi,
Just install a good filter drier to remove moistur from the system,

Regards,
Guapo
And the air in the lines then?

A/C student