PDA

View Full Version : Single room a/c - long pipe run?

electro
06-08-2006, 05:53 PM
Hey there folks, I'm shortly going to get me a system in this room for cooling me and all my computing stuff down, yay!

One of my customers is an a/c engineer (I'm an IT consultant) so he's going to be doing all the pipe connecting and gassing, and I'm going to DIY install the units.

I've calculated the complete distance from indoor to ourdoor location is going to be about 13m, so a complete pipework loop of 26m.

I've requested a Daikin inverter, heatpump/cool model, my room size is 3m by 4.5m, two exteriour walls, one with a window that is south-westerly facing and catches the afternoon sun.

I've got about 3 computers in here running most of the time, it's actually only 2 computers but the rest of the kit probably makes up another computers' worth in heat :)

Couple of questions, is the 26m pipe run going to cause any problems in loss of efficiency or any other probs?

Secondly, what size unit would be recommended, I'm guessing 2 or 3kw of power consumption but I'm trying not to get too burned up on the electric bill here (hence choosing an inverter!) :)

Your help is much appeciated!

Cheers!
-Dave

frank
06-08-2006, 06:08 PM
Hey there folks, I'm shortly going to get me a system in this room for cooling me and all my computing stuff down, yay!

One of my customers is an a/c engineer (I'm an IT consultant) so he's going to be doing all the pipe connecting and gassing, and I'm going to DIY install the units.

I've calculated the complete distance from indoor to ourdoor location is going to be about 13m, so a complete pipework loop of 26m.

I've requested a Daikin inverter, heatpump/cool model, my room size is 3m by 4.5m, two exteriour walls, one with a window that is south-westerly facing and catches the afternoon sun.