PDA

View Full Version : lab scale cooling of a high shear mixer

Keith_99
15-01-2002, 08:10 PM
Hi folks,

I'm a chemist making a foray into uncharted waters here, trying to achieve greater cooling of system composed of the following:

a half gallon reactor which drains into a high shear mixer (the source of heat generation) after which the low viscosty alcohol based material which I am mixing is recirculated into the half gallon reactor. Currently, I have cooling water from the tap being directed to the mechanical seals of the mixer, as well as the jacket of the reactor. Additionally I have a small chiller set to -5 deg centigrade that is connected to a small (about 4 inches) condenser type heat exchanger (anybody familiar with laboratory chemistry will know the type, just a straight galss tube with a cooling jacket) on the return line to the reactor. I have been able to cool to 23 deg centigrade and my goal is to get to 15 deg centigrade. Unfortunately I am not able to greatly increase the surface area of the return line condenser without reducing flow and therefore mixing speed. I need to look at other ways to cool the system. Any suggestions?

Keith

Gary
15-01-2002, 11:10 PM
I'm thinking a picture would be very informative here.

If the chiller is chilling water, it should not be set below freezing temperature.

Does the chilled water flow through the heat exchanger in the same direction as the chemical being chilled (parallel flow), or do they flow in opposite directions (counterflow)? Counterflow is much more efficient.

What is the temperature of the chilled water entering and chilled water leaving the heat exchanger?

What is the temperature of the chemical entering and chemical leaving the heat exchanger?

Keith_99
16-01-2002, 12:06 AM