PDA

View Full Version : Newbie

Bossman
03-07-2006, 12:38 PM
Hello everybody,
I am not a refrigeration engineer but a network systems manager and i am looking for advise on air con for our server room which at the moment is at a warm 32 deg C
constant which is no good for the servers as they need a constant temp of between 18 - 22 deg C to ensure they do not overheat.I have the thermal cututs on the cpu's set to shutdown the servers when the core temp gets to 70 deg C so as not to damage them. The room itself is 3.3M square but has 8 server units plus switching gear.
I have estimated that the output for each server is approx 500watts and i estimate we would need at least a 18000 BTU split unit to give us the required cooling element. We have been given all types of prices but i would like to put it to this forum and get a realistic price for unit plus professional fitting. I would appreciate as I have been working under these conditions for the past 3 years and all SMT comes up with is a move to another part of the school which still leaves the poor servers in the heat. We are a very poor school underfunded but i would welcome anybodies recommendations.
regards
Adrian Staff aka Bossman

frank
03-07-2006, 08:50 PM
I have estimated that the output for each server is approx 500watts and i estimate we would need at least a 18000 BTU split unit

Why swop between SI and Imperial?

If you have 8 servers @ 500w then you need 4kw :confused: + room loads.

It always amazes me why some people leave it till the last minute or until there is a problem before seeking a solution to the problem.

Reminds me of a recent episode in ambients of 28C where we were called out to a Board Meeting where all the top 'brains' were seated complaining that they were sweating because the AC wasn't working. So we dropped everything to race across town to attend (as it is one of our major customers) only to find that the controller was set to heating with a set point of 32C :( :rolleyes: .