PDA

View Full Version : Superheat

marc5180
27-06-2006, 06:45 PM
Can someone give me a good guide on how to measure suereat and and subcooling when commissioning?

frank
27-06-2006, 07:45 PM
Can someone give me a good guide on how to measure suereat and and subcooling when commissioning?

Are you a trainee?

marc5180
27-06-2006, 07:53 PM
No i just never beenexpained how to measure superheat, call i poor traning

frank
27-06-2006, 08:09 PM
So how have you managed to commission any kit in the past? - I'm not being facitious by the way - just curious

wizzer
27-06-2006, 08:37 PM
Hi frank i am a trainee and due to star college in September can i have a first step guide to superheat measurements.

frank
27-06-2006, 09:06 PM
Superheat is the term for the amount of heat added to a fluid above its phase change point.

Water boils at 100C at sea level atmospheric pressure and changes phase to a vapour. If you continue to add heat energy to the vapour, the vapour becomes superheated. So, for water vapour (steam) at 105C you could say that 5K of superheat has been added.

It is easier to understand the term when refering to water if you are not conversant with refrigerants and their boiling points.

Subcooling can be understood as the opposite of superheating. If you have steam at 100C and you cool it so it becomes condensate, then any temperature below 100C (at sea level pressure) can be refered to as subcooling. Water at 95C has been subcooled by 5K.

Superheat - the amount of heat energy added above saturation point (phase change)
Subcool - the amount of heat energy removed below saturation point (phase change)

wizzer
27-06-2006, 09:21 PM
Correct me if i'm wrong but does that mean for me to measure superheat at the evap i have 1 probe on the expansion side of the TEV and 1 probe at the coil exit in to the suction line, and is this with the evap fans on.

always eager to learn from good enginners.

regards

Wizzer:confused:

marc5180
27-06-2006, 09:25 PM