PDA

View Full Version : alternative defrost systems

mystry
23-06-2006, 12:25 PM
hello!
first of all, im studying mechanical eng. and i'm searching about the alternative defrost systems for the refrigerature and when i'm searching, i find this site. so i know anybody help me. anybody know what are the alternative defrost systems?

thanks for helper and site's admin and mods.

Brian_UK
23-06-2006, 11:16 PM
Hi Mystry and welcome to the forum.

There are three main types of defrost and each is used depending on the system itself.

1. Natural Defrost - Switch off the compressor and allow the coil to defrost on it's own. This will only work if the evaporator is about 0°C; like you home refrigerator..

2. Electric defrost - Here there are electric heater elements fitted to the cooling coil which are heated after the compressor is switched off.

3. Hot Gas Defrost - With the compressor still running a reversing valve is utilised to begin pumping the hot compressor discharge gas around the cooling coil forcing any ice build up to melt.

Items 2 and 3 require specilised time clocks to control the defrost event.

mystry
26-06-2006, 07:04 AM
thanks ur post but i'm looking for new defrost systems. i searched in net and i find warm liquid defrosting for supermarkets refrigerations. but i want to find different systems.

Brian_UK
26-06-2006, 06:55 PM
What sort of 'different' systems are you looking for ?
Also what is wrong with the current types that you are unhappy with?

US Iceman
26-06-2006, 08:59 PM
i find warm liquid defrosting for supermarket refrigeration

What in the world is warm liquid defrosting? :confused:

It sounds like water defrost.

Are looking at a chilled glycol system for cooling the evaporators, and then when defrosting is required a warm glycol is pumped through the coil (or over the coil) for defrosting?

My next question is the same as Brian's. What is wrong with the normal defrost systems?

mystry
28-06-2006, 09:47 AM