PDA

View Full Version : york chiller not running

cool it
11-06-2006, 02:14 PM
Hi I am on call this weekend and have been called to one of our sites that i havnt been to before they have a york chiller. The problem is from what i can gather something to do with oil pressure/temp.
the control panel is sayin that its calling for it but nothng is happening. the oil pressure swithch seems to be activated but the oil pressure fault light is not on.
if i press the reset it clicks but clicks agian when i loose it though it is tripping..
also the expansion valve light is saying beyond neutral zone...
Im not an expert on these chillers and any help would be appreciated.
i have left site and left chiller off and am due to go back at 5 pm GMT. if anybody can help by giving me possible things to try before then would be very glad of it.
thanks in advance...

Donnie
11-06-2006, 03:34 PM
This chiller controls on superheat so if it's saying it's beyond neutral zone it means that its being called for and has not satisfied it's superheat setpoint.
This chiller also has an oil temperature inhibit sensor which prevents the chiller from starting if the crankcase heater is not working. This is located next to the crankcase heater. Check that the heater is drawing current.
You can also remove the sensor and gently heat it up to prove operation.
I hope this helps as the heater is a normal cause of failure.

kev
11-06-2006, 04:18 PM
Hi Cool it,
Seems you may have a couple of faults here.
Beyond neutral zone indicates that it may be in its deadband, try adjusting the water temp to a lower seeting and/or decrease the deadband setting if its on a water chiller.

The oil trip sometimes comes on if there is a fault on the actual switch, is there sufficient oil in the sight glass on the compressor?
Sometimes, if the oil is low in the system, there is not sufficient pressure in the compressor for the switch to read before it trips.

Hope this may help a little,
Kev

andy bailess