PDA

View Full Version : Heat recovery and aquifer heat/cold storage

RicHoe
02-06-2006, 11:56 AM
Hello,

as a student, I am doing research on energy efficiency improvement for supermarkets in the Netherlands. We are trying to find out what the energy saving potential is of a combined system of heat recovery from refrigeration/freezing and aquifer heat storage. With such a system it must be possible to meet the total heat demand of a supermarket by storing the 'waste' heat into the ground.
We have several problems with calculating the system:
- what will be the COP improvement if the condensor is cooled by groundwater (T=11 <SUP>o</SUP>C)?
- how do we calculate this?

It would be very nice if someone has some information on this.

NoNickName
02-06-2006, 04:00 PM
It depends on the refrigerant.
Normally, you would not be allowed to condense at a temperature lower than 25 or 30°. So it doesn't make any difference whether you are using acquifer or other waste waters.

Andy
02-06-2006, 07:24 PM
It depends on the refrigerant.
Normally, you would not be allowed to condense at a temperature lower than 25 or 30°. So it doesn't make any difference whether you are using acquifer or other waste waters.
Low condensing pressures can be designed around, with bigger expansion valve sizes for lower pressure drops, or my favorite, electronic expansion valves.
On larger flooded systems head pressure is less of a problem, with low condensing pressures being the norm.

Kind Regards Andy:)

Peter_1
02-06-2006, 07:36 PM
We have a pack which runs in winter conditions with a DP of +/- 3 bar.
And with normal Danfoss TEV's which were selected for a DP of 4 bar.

The COP improvement is huge, compared to what you mostly see in sueprmarkets.. a stable HP whatever teh outside temperature is.

You can use Coolpack for this. Free downloadable.

US Iceman
02-06-2006, 07:36 PM
Normally, you would not be allowed to condense at a temperature lower than 25 or 30°.

Why so?