PDA

View Full Version : Basic SMALL refigeration system

M@@Home
30-05-2006, 01:25 AM
Hello!

I am a fourth year Student at Warwick University and I’m building a cooling system for my Thesis Project. Ill start by telling you all that I’m NOT a refrigeration engineer, and I’ve never looked into this before so I have no idea what I’m talking about:

To cut the story short I have a box which needs a cooling element on the inside (max size of element: 400mm x 200mm) and a radiator on the outside (same max dimensions) and the most compact & lightweight compressor/control system (basic thermostat) possible.

(For the purposes of this assume it is roughly the same as making one of those small beer fridges from scratch. 600mm x 600mm interior etc (2ftx2ft) cooling 25DegC down to 5DegC)

Does anyone have any ideas where to get the parts from in the UK?? (Don’t worry I will have help assembling it etc from a proper engineer, I just need to source the parts.)

Also the refrigerant cannot be flammable or harmful, any ideas what to use with it?

Thanks Very much for your help

Matt

(A poor and desperate student!)

p.s. Im not sure if this is the right forum to post in, so sorry if its not:o

star882
30-05-2006, 05:08 AM
Could you use Peltier (TEC) devices? Very easy to use and no special tools necessary.

Targ
30-05-2006, 09:00 AM
i did a very similar thing for my 3rd projecy @ cardiff uni :D

www.dean-wood.co.uk
http://www.climatecenter.co.uk/cont/default.html

was where i got most of my stuff.

you need to work out the exact load in watts before you can plan on refrigerants or components.

but assuming a load of sub 1kw, at that temperature, *R134a is non toxic and non flamable.
*1/3hp hermetric (spelling, its early) compressor
*suitably sized condenser
*finaly a metering device your choice of cap tube/tev/cpev

should do ok, but like i said, more spesific detail on the load and situation before too much planning.

targ

M@@Home
30-05-2006, 03:25 PM
Hi,