PDA

View Full Version : R32 Split system topped up with R410a







ForFoxSake
30-08-2017, 06:50 AM
I've got a customer who's buying his own splits for a hotel referb. I told him to buy R410a models as if he buys the R32 models i don't yet have the gas to top it up.

The systems are pre-charged for 7m and there will be 10-11m pipe runs. Meaning a top up of 90-120g respectively.

So, as R32 is an ingredient of R410a, what would happen if i added 120g of R410a to this R32 system?

Grizzly
30-08-2017, 07:00 AM
Are you mad?
You are considering playing with unknown ****tails of refrigerants.
Which are then going to be used in a Public environment.
I know in your defrence the amounts are tiny.
But so is the amounts in some of the r300 fridges that have been catching fire.
Don't go there.
Grizzly

ForFoxSake
30-08-2017, 07:20 AM
No, it's a what if question? That's why i told him to buy R410a models.

I know the R32 vessels are stronger to take the extra pressure over 410. But this is not like adding R32 to a lower pressure system and risking a rupture.

As 410 is a blend, and when you have a leak you're supposed to reclaim the left overs and fully recharge with the correct blend again. i Figured this R32 scenario would be like topping up a 410 system repeatedly, the blend would become biased on the Difluoromethane side?

FaultCode
30-08-2017, 10:47 AM
How many splits is he going to be buying in total?

What is the legality of him installing non-certified equipment into his premises?

Just buy a can of gas, charge him for it and then he gets a gas free top up on all of his installs.

Greek_engineer
03-09-2017, 12:04 PM
Do not make such kind of experiments!