PDA

View Full Version : Liquid Sensor on Accumalator







skhan855
12-08-2016, 04:17 PM
Hi

While I am in automation process of evaporators, I came across and stuck over Liquid Sensor on Accumulator.

There are different kind of sensors available, from Danfoss aks 4100 to float chamber switch. Please suggest me what kind of sensor I should apply. I couldn't find much of liquid switches on web.

Regards
Salman

skhan855
12-08-2016, 05:32 PM
Hi

I just went through Danfos AKS 38 float switch. Is this kind widely used?

Regards
Salman

joe-ice
12-08-2016, 05:53 PM
if its just a single point sensor you want , henry technologies do a sensor that uses a light beam , very handy as once fitted the sensor can be changed without removing the gas.

skhan855
12-08-2016, 06:09 PM
Hi

do you mean this product?
http://www.henrytech.com/wp-content/uploads/2014/06/P87-88-Liquid-Level-Switches1.pdf

joe-ice
12-08-2016, 10:22 PM
yes thats the one

skhan855
16-08-2016, 03:37 PM
Hi, I got quote from Henry technologies. I need 7 units. Are these switches reliable?
I studied multiple point also. Should I go for single point or multiple??

I intend to install it on accumulator.

RANGER1
16-08-2016, 08:50 PM
Hi, I got quote from Henry technologies. I need 7 units. Are these switches reliable?
I studied multiple point also. Should I go for single point or multiple??

I intend to install it on accumulator.

Skhan855,
Can you why would you need 7 of these, as usually 1 slop pot/ accumulator in plant room on a common suction line.
Then in plant room 1 compressor, or as required drawing off the slop pot/accumulator.
We have never had much luck with these types of switches in the past, usually use Danfoss AKS38 or Hansen.

skhan855
17-08-2016, 07:53 AM
Hi
My idea is to install 7 accumulators on 7 Evaporators and shut off solenoid (in my case AKVA 15) if there is excess liquid from accumulator?

Is this fundamental not correct?

At present i have 1 accumulator on 3 units and 1 on 4 unit.

Regards
Salman

RANGER1
17-08-2016, 08:59 AM
Hi
My idea is to install 7 accumulators on 7 Evaporators and shut off solenoid (in my case AKVA 15) if there is excess liquid from accumulator?

Is this fundamental not correct?

At present i have 1 accumulator on 3 units and 1 on 4 unit.

Regards
Salman

Salman if you shut down solenoids, how will you get level down in accumulator?
Depending on layout distances between evaporators & how many compressors,
would dictate design.
Normally 1 suction accumulator for all the system with liquid boil off line in it.
AKVA controlling superheat on each evaporator with Danfoss controller.
This would be the most efficient way instead of lots of other individual systems.

skhan855
17-08-2016, 12:13 PM
AKVA 15 would serve as expansions valve and according to my understanding should be closed if liquid ammonia is accumulated in accumulator to prevent further inflow of liquid in accumulator.

As liquid boils of and compressor running it would suck all vapors and thus slowly all liquid would turn gas and would be suction by compressor.

If i install 1 accumalator / Evoperator than I do not have to close all evaporaters.

This is my understand and probably I am wrong !!

Rgds
Salman

RANGER1
17-08-2016, 09:31 PM
AKVA 15 would serve as expansions valve and according to my understanding should be closed if liquid ammonia is accumulated in accumulator to prevent further inflow of liquid in accumulator


[QUOTE]Liquid accumulator catches any liquid that returns from evaporators & liquid line boils what liquid it can into gas.
If level is high with high level switch, it shuts down everything, AKVA, compressor/s
That's why important to have very accurate superheat control on evaporators.

As liquid boils of and compressor running it would suck all vapors and thus slowly all liquid would turn gas and would be suction by compressor.

It needs heat to turn into gas, so liquid line giving off heat inside it, or a heater, ambient on uninsulated accumulator.
Ammonia is a lot different than *****.

If i install 1 accumalator / Evoperator than I do not have to close all evaporaters.


You can do it this way, but sounds expensive with steel components, this would be a commercial *****/synthetic refrigeration system.

This is my understand and probably I am wrong !!

Rgds
Salman

skhan855
17-08-2016, 09:55 PM
Hi,
I am getting difficulty in getting AKVA 15 lead time 6-8 weeks, therefore I might go on for normal solenoid with hand expansion valve, is it good idea?

Since I make my own accumulators therefore costs are not high, but I need to know that hot gas to accumulator to coil comes from direct discharge side of compressor?

I did not worked on free on before. Ammonia is always my favorite.

Why you do not recommend me having ammonia pump (over feed system)?

RANGER1
18-08-2016, 01:47 AM
Pump over feed no problem, more expensive though.
What delivery on liquid pump?