PDA

View Full Version : new ice making idea

ice builder
29-04-2006, 05:49 PM
Hi guys, I am a chem eng student and just had an idea and was wondering if it is correct or stupid. My dad is a dairy farmer and as far as i can tell there are 2 milk refrigeration systems. One is the direct expansion system where refrigerant is used to cool the milk directly and the 2nd is where ice is made overnight using cheap electricity and this ice is used to cool the milk when it is placed in the tank. The benefit of the ice building system is that it uses cheap night rate electricity. The disadvantage is that it is much less efficient. As far as i can tell the main reason for this inefficiency is the low rate of heat transfer from the refrigerant to the water. Refrigerant is passed through coils which cools the water outside the coils and ice builds on the outside of the coils. As ice has a low coefficient of heat transfer, very little heat gets through the ice and it takes much longer to transfer the desired amont of energy, causing a reduction in efficiency.
My idea was to use a second fluid which doesnt freeze until a temperature significanly below 0C, which doesnt mix with water and which also has a different density to water. Oil might fill these criteria. The oil could be cooled to a temp below 0C by the refrigerant and as it would be in the liquid phase, the rate of heat transfer would be much higher( an agitator could be used to increase turbulence. THe oil could then be passed into the bottom of a container of water. As oil has a lower density than water it would rise through the water and would transfer heat to the water. The water would then freeze. The oil could then be recyled after it comes to the top of the container.
I was hoping somebody might be able to tell me if this was tried before or whether there is some flaw in my logic which i have missed.

Andy
29-04-2006, 06:13 PM
Hi Ice Builder:)

nice to see a new face:)