PDA

View Full Version : Sparky advise wanted

ggf
22-10-2015, 06:32 PM
Hi I have been a time serverd electrician since I left school,and have been very lucky to have been disciplined in domestic commercial and industrial,my spacialty is control boards and boiler wiring.
I have just been asked by a refrigeration company to start wiring all there cold rooms and freezers installations, so I have wired in a few now, but I must admit its like the first time i wired in a s plan on a domestic boiler system, or commercial boiler, I don't have the first clue what and why..
So I have found myself spending hours trying to research to learn, but your industry seems to be like getting into castle grayskull,
Please could you offer any advise on control courses? that i may attend or any good books that can help me?

al
22-10-2015, 08:54 PM
Check out Ellis training, I've used them for apprentice training and found them excellent.

http://www.ellistraining.co.uk/courses/electrics

Rob White
24-10-2015, 11:46 AM

Are you any good with schematic wiring diagrams?

Are they expecting you to build the panels and all the equipment or
are they wanting you to wire all the component parts together?

As you know there is a big difference between designing and building
and just wiring all the bits together.

All the courses that teach will be at a fairly basic level, they will
explain what is what and how they work with each other but in
truth they won't go into great detail.

You have the best grounding in what you do already all you need now is to take
that to the next level. The training on offer might not do that for you, you know
more now as an electrician but you just need to apply that t o a fridge.

I know I'm teaching you to suck eggs and I don't wan't to sound patronising
but you are in a very grey area, stuck between electrical and fridge.

The only way to do it is by doing it and normally that would be under the