PDA

View Full Version : Type of Fish & freezing time chart

smpsmp45
08-09-2015, 08:14 AM
By any chance can I get a chart of type of fish & freezing time for the fish.

This is essentially for a blast freezer application.

chemi-cool
08-09-2015, 02:25 PM
its not the type of fish, its the mass.

what's heavier? 1 kg of Salmon or 1 kg of white shark?:D

Segei
10-09-2015, 12:05 AM
Actually it depends of fish type and how much fat it has. Long time ago I studied this issue and it isn't simple. What kind of equipment are you going to use for freezing?

smpsmp45
10-09-2015, 06:36 AM
We are making trolley freezers. But many a times, the clients want to know the time factor for variety of fish to be frozen. Though they are aware about the thickness / mass / water content etc are the factors causing the change in time factor, all are asking if we can prepare a chart showing a typical data on freeze time of a variety of fish.

And yes that shall be used only for thumb rule calculations for freeze time.

I could get some details though & shall share them once I prepare a report on that.

Still Typical Fish data is missing in that report & thought may be our forum can help.

mikeref
10-09-2015, 08:25 AM
Some information on this page. https://www.google.com.au/url?sa=t&rct=j&q=&esrc=s&source=web&cd=1&cad=rja&uact=8&ved=0CB0QFjAAahUKEwjdsJK99evHAhUjLKYKHeiIAW4&url=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.fao.org%2Fwairdocs%2Ftan%2Fx5936e%2Fx5936e01.htm&usg=AFQjCNFCf2RTUFrHtcflkVfbUEYqlsD1zQ

smpsmp45
11-09-2015, 05:23 AM
Thanks for the link.

Josip
11-09-2015, 07:27 AM
Hi, smpsmp45 :)

hope here you'll find something good too ...
http://www.fao.org/docrep/003/v3630e/v3630e00.htm

Best regards, Josip

smpsmp45
12-09-2015, 08:13 AM
Many thanks. It is useful no doubts

Sandro Baptista
15-09-2015, 04:20 PM
Actually it depends of fish type and how much fat it has. Long time ago I studied this issue and it isn't simple. What kind of equipment are you going to use for freezing?