PDA

View Full Version : Emergency stop on compressor







RANGER1
28-05-2015, 09:18 AM
A client we work for has a number of Industrial compressors, on a number of sites.
An opposition company did the install's.
If you press local compressor emergency stop, the whole plant shunt trips!
Is this crazy (I think) or is it the norm in some plants or countries?

We sometimes during servicing press emergency stop if carrying out oil filter change etc , not at this place though.

sterl
28-05-2015, 04:21 PM
The stop right now button on a compressor panel should not be an E-Stop for the plant. Lots of codes require E-Stops that halt all the machine room equipment and have specifics concerning location of the switch: Typically outside the machine room.....

FreezerGeezer
28-05-2015, 09:30 PM
It seems odd to me. Related machinery, and perhaps any powered stuff within a few metres (having first come across them in engineering workshops, e-stops to me are as much about injury avoidance as anything). But what would the benefit of stopping the entire plant be?

Rob White
28-05-2015, 09:46 PM
.

I think there are at least two reasons to have an emergency stop button
and the most common would be the one that is used locally to the machine,
that stops that individual machine in the event of an emergency with it.

The stop for the whole plant is a different issue and if done wrong could actually
cause more problems than it would prevent, pressure rise in the wrong part of
the system for one.

So in my opinion emergency stops are used for the actual machine itself and if one
is used for the whole plant, then it should be located near emergency doors and the
main control panel.

Regards

Rob

.