PDA

View Full Version : continuos cut out on klixon

Juggernaut_337
27-05-2015, 12:21 AM
Hey guys,

Long time member, first time poster. I'm no expert and always looking to learn more, so take it easy, cool beans? :D

I was the second engineer to look at a display unit very similar to the Danny 120 model by Nisbets, was even called Danny.

Anyways, first engineer to site changed the compressor out, reporting it cutting in and out consistently, I knew it was going to be the Klixon, especially when the new one had the same symptoms.

Condenser was clear
Compressor drawing 15.7 Amps (nominal running should have been around 6 Amps)... Klixon

Unit was probably about 7+years old and had just been moved to it's new location (about 100 meters up the road)
Apparently, not tipped.

Only place to put the gauges on was the service port on the compressor.

Refrigerant R404a

As the budget to fix it wasn't a lot, I had to diagnose and try something to chance a fix.
My one and only experience with this kind of problem was a filter/drier change where the desiccant had become blocked.
I changed the filter/drier, but the problem remained.

I explained to the client it was more than likely a blockage causing the Klixon to go out on over current, and as the budget was small, he had no interest in trying to resurrect it, especially when the cost may have been more than the other 2nd hand fridge (that was working) was waiting to be used.

Never run for more than a few seconds or long enough to give good indication of where the blockage might be (if it was), saying that, the liquid line felt a lot cooler to the hand than it should have... (Oil, tipped from move?)

I kind of wished I had brought it back home and opened it up to find out where the fault was.
Time was not on my side, so, no pics, no actual temperature readings, it was about a week ago, a lot happens in a week.

In your experience, what would you have done next to diagnose or diagnosed it as?

Cheers

mikeref