PDA

View Full Version : Make a Recovery Unit







shark26
24-04-2006, 12:29 PM
How easy is it to make your own recovery unit and what parts do you need to fit. :rolleyes: :)

rbartlett
24-04-2006, 01:46 PM
How easy is it to make your own recovery unit and what parts do you need to fit. :rolleyes: :)

It's actually quite easy but it usually it shows that you're a real tightwad an willing to bodge..

Have a holiday in florida and pick up a promax for next to nothing...

http://cgi.ebay.com/Promax-Amprobe-RG5410hp-Recovery-Unit_W0QQitemZ7612434727QQcategoryZ42296QQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem

cheers

Richard

dan wong
24-04-2006, 03:08 PM
Assuming ...you wanted to save $$$. ..Get a new one made from China. Cheaper than you can build.

However, If you wanted to learn ... build /rebuild. get a used one and rebuild. very educational. (hehehe, my buddy, the tightwad, try to build one, already cost him three time more than he could have brought a new one & It look like a piece of ****)

fridg
24-04-2006, 03:14 PM
Maybe something like this , with a bit of copper thrown in.



http://members.optusnet.com.au/hmbrown/VacuumSetUp.html

bldref
24-04-2006, 04:32 PM
I have done it years ago Pot, Oil Seperator,
Preasure reg valve,Condnser with fan.
But not quite as good as a bought one and looks much more professional than home made, Barrie..

shark26
25-04-2006, 02:39 PM
Hi guys,

No iam not trying to be cheap. I already have a Javac recovery machine. All i am trying to do is make one with some spare bits i have lying around.

I have a couple of complete small fridge units lying around ( compressor, cond with fan and evap ).

dan wong
27-04-2006, 07:00 AM
Question? Since we got rid of all the ozone depleting *****, we are now using enviormental friendly ***** - non ozone depleting, do we still need to recover *****?

Johnny Rod
27-04-2006, 10:48 AM
Yes you do. HCFCs and any blends containing them still have an ODP. HFCs don't but they have a global warming potential (GWP) measured in the thousands, i.e. thousands of times that of carbon dioxide. Not sure about the US but it is totally illegal not to recover refrigerants here, even topping up a leaking system and so on is wrong.

The MG Pony
30-04-2006, 07:39 PM
Remember releasing refrigerant is basicly murduring us all. ALL WAYS RECOVER!

ric
30-04-2006, 08:51 PM
when i first started refrigeration my old boss gave me a home made unit (probably did not trust me with a good unit).it was a simple condensor unit with a reciver.the compresser had a drain plug fitted to check the oil and change when needed.plus hp/lp switches and gauges

The MG Pony
30-04-2006, 09:42 PM
Ya thats what I figured and designed it around that basis.

cool breeze
21-05-2006, 02:55 AM
The USA has the same laws. All refrigerants must be reclaimed.

CoolMike
22-02-2009, 06:49 PM
Interesting concept, they ain't cheap to buy eh!