PDA

View Full Version : Cost of Glycol/ton of cooling

CanuckTJW
16-03-2015, 05:48 PM
Hello,

I am an industrial energy manager but not the strongest in refrigeration.

I've been recently asked to calculate the cost of glycol/ton of refrigeration.

Is this a normal industry metric?

Glycol is not really a consumable so I am not sure what this person is asking for. He has a previous figure of approximately $0.57/ton with Glycol at -2deg C. I think he wants to calculate the cost of operating the piece of equipment but using a straight forward Q=mCpdt should be sufficient to get the cooling load in BTU then calculate the cost in electricity from the compressor system.

I can see calculating the total cost of kWh using COP or kW/ton, operating hours, water and chemical consumption, pump operation etc

Any calculators or excel sheets out there I can vet and use?

Thanks in advance

Segei
17-03-2015, 12:06 AM
Hi, Canuck TJW.

Probably, you were asked to estimate costs to produce 1 TR for glycol cooling. I'm doubt that you will be able to find any calculator or excel sheet to estimate this costs.
I will show you how estimation can be done.
Assume that refrigerant is ammonia. Plant with screw compressor(Frick RWB- II-134)and with evaporative condenser. Condenser water pump 20 HP. condenser fans 30 HP. Glycol pump 20 HP.
Glycol temperature is -2C or 28F. Assume that evaporation temperature is 15F or pressure is 28.4 psig. Assume that condensing pressure is 152 psig. For mentioned operating conditions this compressor will produce 261.7 TR and it will use 269 HP(engineering data from Frick). Total energy use 269 +20+20+30=339 HP or 339 x 0.75=254 kW
Energy use per 1 TR will be 254/261.7 = 0.97 kW/TR. At energy cost of 0.1$/kW costs to produce 1 TR will be around $0.1/TR.