PDA

View Full Version : Compressor question

Farmelectrics
19-02-2015, 11:44 AM
Hello all I'm new to the forumn and im not an air con or fridge man im an electrician working in an fm world so work with a lot of fridge guys anyway my question is how do you mechanically test a 3 phase compressor and is there such a way I'm well aware of how to electrically test. Your thoughts please and I look forward to learning much more of you guys in the future thanks in advance

jonjon
19-02-2015, 11:46 AM
Hello all I'm new to the forumn and im not an air con or fridge man im an electrician working in an fm world so work with a lot of fridge guys anyway my question is how do you mechanically test a 3 phase compressor and is there such a way I'm well aware of how to electrically test. Your thoughts please and I look forward to learning much more of you guys in the future thanks in advance

I thought an electrician would know this ?

Farmelectrics
19-02-2015, 11:51 AM
Jon Jon I have tested the compressor electrically for a fridge engineer who didn't no how to test it he was saying to me that it could be still mechanically damaged hence my question is there a way of doing this or is the guy talking rubbish

Farmelectrics
19-02-2015, 12:20 PM
Apparently the above compressor is now damaged even though when I tested it with my mft it was ok so back to my question how can a compressor be mechanically damaged go easy I'm not a fridge guy lol

Farmelectrics
19-02-2015, 12:51 PM
I'm now gathering the only way to test a compressor is by using a multi meter and or a megger is that right

Rob White
19-02-2015, 02:27 PM
I'm now gathering the only way to test a compressor is by using a multi meter and or a megger is that right

to test a comp electrically, you need to test like you have.
Test to earth and test across the windings, if all tests ok the
compressor could still be seized so pulling Full Locked Rota Amps.

If the compressor is mechanically faulty it would be ok electrically